The Student Room Group

Have your say: Changes announced to 2021 GCSEs and A-levels

Here's where you can post a comment about our Changes announced to 2021 GCSEs and A-levels article.

Read the full Changes announced to 2021 GCSEs and A-levels article and join in the discussion by posting a message below.

Scroll to see replies

I have just finished Year 12 and I am studying Maths, Further Maths, Physics and Geography. So I am on of few alevel students who the new changes actually(kind of) effect.

The changes they have made to geography I am not surprised about, many schools had their field trips cancelled due to the virus, my school got sent home while on our field trip back in March due to a student developing covid symptoms (this was the week before the full lockdown), so although I have done some field work I haven’t completed all that is required so it is kind of a relief to hear that we don’t have to go out again. The big downside to the announcement is that coursework hasn’t been cancelled- for many students, especially those doing human geography, coursework requires interacting with people and finding out their opinions, which is obviously not possible at the minute. I know there’s ways around it and I know ofqual have asked exam boards ‘to be mindful about missing primary data’ but it just makes the situation quite difficult.....

In regards to basically no other changes being made to alevel I would say I’m disappointed but at the same time not surprised. think many students are annoyed especially due to the inequality created (some students having full zoom classes, others not even having access to the internet) but also due to the negative impact it has had on so many peoples mental health.

I do think changes could still happen, in fact if there is a second wave I think changes will have to happen, but with exams being 10 months away who knows what position the world will be in by then....