I work in Insurance, will I benefit from a degree and what route should I take?

Watch
danwalker117
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
I'm 26 and currently work in the insurance industry. (General property claims to be specific.)

I have my Cert CII and i'm studying for my Dip CII at the moment and hopefully plan to obtain my ACII.

However, I did 2 years at university for an unrelated 2 year course which I totally regret. I only have 2 years of finance left.

Do you think it's better just to continue to obtain the industry qualifications or will a degree assist me?

I would love to become an Actuary or something really technical within insurance but unfortunately didn't even do Maths at A level so a Maths degree would be quite a step for me.

I'm also open to other routes of learning.

Any advice is appreciated.
KaptainCliff
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
The ACII / FCII qualification is well regarded and opens you up to a good career in insurance. If you're considering doing a degree to become an actuary, there are two requirements for admittance as a student to the IFoA: at least a grade B mathematics A level and a 2:1 degree in a numerate discipline. Before you did a maths degree, you would need to do a maths A level. Overall you're looking at 5 years full time education, of which you would only be funded for the last two years of your degree.

You would need 5 years out of work and funding for your A level and first year of uni.

Obviously depending on your finances and commitment to changing career track, I personally would be minded to continue towards gaining you CII qualification.
KaptainCliff
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
As another suggestion, have you considered the chartered actuarial analyst route? I believe you don't need a degree and it is a more technical role than the CII route.
danwalker117
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Oh I haven't heard of that route?Would I still need to do A-Level maths?
KaptainCliff
Rep: