The Student Room Group

Is there any way to study as the EU student?

Hi there!

I'm an EU student whose dream was to study dentistry in the UK. I have just finished 12th grade and I'm going into the 13th, so the application process will start for me soon.

When I started preparing for applying in June, EU students were paying the same fees as UK students (around 9k per year, except for Scotland where it was even lower) and had acces to loans. However, due to brexit, around the beginning of July, a statement has came out: Eu students starting thei studies in the September of 2021 would no longer be eligible for home fee status and lose loan access.

These changes are drastic enough to not allow me to study for 5 years.
SO here comes my question: is there any way to help me? Do these changes involve the whole UK, or is there maybe a part of the country which keeps its cost for eu students lower? What are the chances of getting scholarschips? In summary, is there any way for me to have a chance of studying in the UK?

Especially after getting 2910 in UCAT i don't want to give up.
Reply 1
Original post by WidePeepoSad
Hi there!

I'm an EU student whose dream was to study dentistry in the UK. I have just finished 12th grade and I'm going into the 13th, so the application process will start for me soon.

When I started preparing for applying in June, EU students were paying the same fees as UK students (around 9k per year, except for Scotland where it was even lower) and had acces to loans. However, due to brexit, around the beginning of July, a statement has came out: Eu students starting thei studies in the September of 2021 would no longer be eligible for home fee status and lose loan access.

These changes are drastic enough to not allow me to study for 5 years.