dogdogdog
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
I am going to do a foundation year in art starting this September. For my A-levels I did psychology, fine art and graphics. Over the summer, I have realised I no longer feel confident that I could be successful in pursuing art as a career. I have become interested by the idea of pursuing a career related to computer science. I recently started learning lua by taking an online course, and already have some html knowledge. If I want to go to university for computer science, and am willing to put in as much work as I need to in order to make it happen, what would I need to do? Should I/would I be able to do A-level computer science?
PQ
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
Computer science is not a programming degree or software engineering degree. It also has the highest unemployment rate of any university subject in the UK.

What sort of career are you thinking of going into?
PQ
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by gregorydidier)
For computer science, maths is so important. Although computer science has the highest unemployment as pointed out already, that's because many old polytechnics offer it but do not offer other degrees such as mathematics. Have you got any maths experience?
That isn’t the reason for the high unemployment. The research has actually found that it is mainly due to the lack of practical experience and work placements available in academic courses.
2500_2
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by dogdogdog)