The Student Room Group

The prestige of your current medical school matters...

Certainly not when applying for foundation or specialty training positions, but as a current med student, I've seen that it becomes much more relevant in the following circumstances:

When applying for fellowship positions abroad (particularly for the US and Canada; certain medical schools have well-established links with universities such as a Johns Hopkins, Harvard, Yale and Emory)

When trying to set up a private practice
- I've done summer work in a number of private practices and patients frequently ask where doctors studied and I've seen them become visibly relieved when doctors have mentioned training at Oxbridge
- Almost all of the doctors I've seen in these private practices, have to emphasise studying/working in London, Oxford or Cambridge, even if only for a very short period of time
- One particular doctor I worked with was the lead for his clinic, but was the only one to emit his university from the clinic biographies because he went to a newer medical school.

I know these are obviously anecdotes, and by no means will attending a top tier university be the ultimate determinant of whether somebody is a good doctor, but I think it can be somewhat disingenuous when we say medical school prestige doesn't matter at all.

Just my 2p.
Original post by Anonymous
Certainly not when applying for foundation or specialty training positions, but as a current med student, I've seen that it becomes much more relevant in the following circumstances:

When applying for fellowship positions abroad (particularly for the US and Canada; certain medical schools have well-established links with universities such as a Johns Hopkins, Harvard, Yale and Emory)

- I've done summer work in a number of private practices and patients frequently ask where doctors studied and I've seen them become visibly relieved when doctors have mentioned training at Oxbridge