How to get into accounting & finance as a science postgrad?

Watch
nevster
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
I have a bachelors degree in biomedical sciences and have had a change of heart and decided that accountancy is the career I want to pursue. What's the best way to go about this? I have tried to research this myself but found it all a bit confusing... I understand that I need to get ACA and other professional qualifications, but what's the best way to get these? Should I apply for an Accounting & Finance MSc conversion course? Do I need to get a training contract with a company? Are the online courses worth it?
ajj2000
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by nevster)
I have a bachelors degree in biomedical sciences and have had a change of heart and decided that accountancy is the career I want to pursue. What's the best way to go about this? I have tried to research this myself but found it all a bit confusing... I understand that I need to get ACA and other professional qualifications, but what's the best way to get these? Should I apply for an Accounting & Finance MSc conversion course? Do I need to get a training contract with a company? Are the online courses worth it?
What are you grades (A level, degree and GCSE maths and English)?

I'd avoid Mscs and other courses at this stage and focus on applying for jobs which pay for your professional training and see how you can become a strong candidate for them.
nevster
Rep:
?
(Original post by ajj2000)
What are you grades (A level, degree and GCSE maths and English)?

I'd avoid Mscs and other courses at this stage and focus on applying for jobs which pay for your professional training and see how you can become a strong candidate for them.
I have good GCSEs and A levels and a 1st in my degree. Can you recommend where to start looking for jobs that would pay for my training?
ajj2000
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago