Wheel bearings? What's the dealio?

Watch
StriderHort
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 months ago
Been getting a nasty yowl off one(?) of my brakes the last month and assumed i'd knocked a wheels alignment out after some clumsy parking. Took my car into a only half dodgy place for some part worn tyres as needed them anyway and hoped to have it fixed via balancing/rotating, but the young guy says it's my front bearings, then he kept laughing like a drain saying 'I feel for you mate'

Must admit i'm worried how much this is going to sting me and how it'll go, my MOT is due in 6 weeks odd. The wee bit of reading I've done implies I really don't want these failing while driving and it's a bigger deal than a bit of noise, what are people thoughts/exp with them?

I'm ok with engines and electronics, but a total noob when it comes to wheels/brakes/suspension...is this the kind of thing you do yourself or leave to a professional? I'm a bit leery in case my garage give me bad news, as i'm kinda broke and need my car to go to work to earn ect ect, but don't want to be driving a danger.
TheDE
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report 2 months ago
Professional job and a very difficult one at that. They often refuse to come out.
StriderHort
Rep:
?
(Original post by TheDE)
Professional job and a very difficult one at that. They often refuse to come out.
Oh....good /
PTMalewski
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 2 months ago
Dying bearing shouldn't even be detected unless the car is taken for a test drive.

The job is quite physically demanding, and you need some really good quality tools to do it. I do brakes and some lighter suspension works myself, but I wouldn't bother to change bearings myself, although some guys do.
StriderHort
Rep:
?
Yeah i'm getting a hunch I shouldn't try these myself... I've watched a few vids and get the idea of how to take the play out of them...but the tolerances look v precise and a lot of these forum DIY threads seem to end in problems/disaster down the line