Not sure if I should drop out

Watch
Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Currently in a really difficult situation and I'm really not sure what to do. I am a mechanical engineering student at Coventry and have finished first year. I have not been enjoying living at Coventry at all.

Through first year I thought about dropping out but stuck with it believing that it would get better. I can't help think that I would have enjoyed a different university much better and find it sad when I hear my friends from back home at other unis having a good time.

I don't know why I have left it so late to take action about not enjoying my uni experience. I have a house already with 3 others that I met in freshers who are my main friends. Without them I would've definitely dropped out.

A few of my friends back home who took a gap year reapplied through UCAS and managed to get into unis with much higher grade boundaries than what they achieved. My predicted grades (BBB) are something that limited me applying to unis i really wanted to go to e.g Southampton or Nottingham or Bath. I wish I knew that reapplying with my actual grades(ABC) during a gap year wouldve enabled me to apply to unis higher unis possibly.

I have emailed several unis since the start of August to see if it would be possible to transfer into second year which they have come back with no. I am really unsure if I should drop out before second year to reapply or stay on for year 2 at Cov. No doubt I would have to continue to pay for my house if I dropped out which is a disadvantage. The whole situation is getting me pretty down as I feel lost on what I should do.

If u have read this all thank u I would be grateful for any advice.
KaptainCliff
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
Tough situation. I dropped out of my original uni in first year because I wasn't enjoying it. I then went on to go to a different uni closer to home (same course) and enjoyed it much more.