How many hours a week does a foundation doctor work?

Watch this thread
This discussion is closed.
Elsaaa97
Badges: 3
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
I am a medical student just starting my final year so wanting to prepare myself for what comes next. I know hystorically F1s have often worked 80hour weeks but I was wondering with the new contracts if this still happens? Of course it will be different in different specialities and foundation schools, but if anyone knows roughly the norm?
Thanks
nexttime
Badges: 22
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 1 year ago
No that doesn't happen any more. Not to that degree anyway.

Your maximum contracted hours are 48 hours per week with most rotas being a little less. You might stay late occasionally, but if in England you can exception report (gets you extra money or time in lieu so worth it).

However you may be required to do things like audits, which can sometimes be hard to do in hours if its a busy job. Once you start doing exams that can also add a very large amount to the out of hours unpaid workload. They also have very low pass rates with big variability based on med school,

My general estimate for average workload is 50-55 hours per week, but with week to week variability. There certainly jobs out there that are 9-5 with no chance of staying late too.

Obviously add commute onto that, and as your job moves each year a lot of people have very long commutes.
Smile88egc
Badges: 15
Rep:
Report 1 year ago