Should employers value education?

Watch
megan23052
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 months ago
My employers (Network Rail) are forcing me to do a certification course (below bachelors) at a lower ranked uni than my level, what do I do? I have a masters in science from Manchester, a first class bachelors from Oxford too, but they are forcing me to do a certification from Glasgow Caledonian. The pay is good (around 30k for the first year combining London play + joining bonus), role is a rational grad scheme and for my career planning, just a step towards building some experience until I get a better opportunity . I completely understand I should be grateful for this, but, having gone to Oxford and Manchester- quite frankly, GCU seems like a big big downgrade to both my CV and qualifications. It is almost like they do not care what education I have (or my past hard work). Honestly already quite disappointed at this and do not see myself working there for very long term already.
MalcolmX
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 2 months ago
this post screams i'm a massive snob
londonmyst
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 2 months ago
Are your employers providing the funding for the course?
Is the certification for cpd purposes, an insurance requirement or a part of on the job training that all new employees with a specific role/department have to comply with as a condition of their employment?
megan23052
Rep:
?
(Original post by MalcolmX)
lol , if having worked hard and asking to be recognised is " I am a massive snob", then I am a massive snob and in that scenario have no regrets being one... I know what I went through to get where I am and hence do not seek your approval
GabiAbi84
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 2 months ago
Your employer requires you to do a certification-they don’t need to take any of your education history into account, it is clearly not relevant. 🙄
Are they paying for you to do it?
Don’t like it, leave
nexttime
Badges: 22
Rep:
?
Report 2 months ago