username1439919
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 months ago
Hi

I’m really just here because I want to hear about your Masters dissertation writing experiences (especially if you study/studied humanities). I love reading posts where people talk about how much time it took them to write their dissertations but most of the ones I’ve seen are from science students who write things like “I wrote my dissertation in a month – but I had already finished all my lab work and gathered all my data before I started”. As a history student, I can’t relate.

My current situation: I have a 15,000-20,000 word dissertation to write by the end of December. Originally the deadline was supposed to be the end of August, but we all got extensions because of Covid. Ideally, I’d like to be finished by mid-October though, so in about 2 months. I’ve wasted a lot of time procrastinating over the summer (because I’m not very motivated without time pressure), and although I’ve done a reasonable amount of secondary reading, I’ve barely even started looking at primary sources, so I don’t feel anywhere near ready to write yet. My hope is that I can spend one intense week of reading/planning, and then write my introduction and conclusion in about a week each, and my three chapters in about 10-14 days each. Does that sound reasonable? (By the way, I’m not really a “research first then write” or a “write as I research” person – I’m more of a “do lots of research first, then start writing but find gaps in my research as I write, so do more research while I’m writing” person).

Use this post to tell me your dissertation writing stories, vent about your current writing struggles, and give each other advice and motivation!

Yes, I’m posting this because I’m still procrastinating.
Last edited by username1439919; 5 months ago
Keele University
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 5 months ago
(Original post by username1439919)
Hi