Got into a University out of town, my mother keeps telling me its a mistake

Watch
Dralexus
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 months ago
Hi guys,

I am a BTEC student who got D*D*D* and got a place confirmed at the University of Nottingham which is out of London, where I live. My second option was Brunel, which my mother tells me I should've gone to in order to avoid spending the extra living costs.

She keeps beating be down how selfish I am and that never think about the family. She wants to pay for all my expenses and blames me that she needs to work more or get another job. Doesn't allow me to get a student loan either.

I really don't know how to deal with the situation, I can't even get happy for getting into the University which I think is the best possible scenario with my circumstances. Please give me some advice on how to deal with the situation. Am I wrong here?
ReadingMum
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 4 months ago
Student finance is there so that your mother doesn't have to get another job/work more. What is the reasoning behind not applying for the loan - and is that fees and maintenance or just maintenance?
Dralexus
Rep:
?
(Original post by ReadingMum)
Student finance is there so that your mother doesn't have to get another job/work more. What is the reasoning behind not applying for the loan - and is that fees and maintenance or just maintenance?
I've already taken the tuition fee loan after convincing my mother back in May that we can always cancel/stop it and pay in cash. Even if I mention the maintenance loan she goes nuts and calls me an idiot for wanting to take on more loans. While also having a go on me for doubling her costs from around 30 to 60k. She has the money for the whole first and second year, just is waiting to see how her business is going to run.
bubblecat
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 4 months ago