Fe.Haiii
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 months ago
hey, I'm a student in Uk thinking about going into optometry (perhaps later on working in Specsavers) but I have mixed feelings. I've heard the pay is okay however many ppl say to just study dentistry/pharmacy instead. I'm honestly just confused whether this career is for me or to choose another science route. if anyone with experience as an optometrist, working in specs or is studying it, can tell me if it's good/worth studying it would be much appreciated. Thank you!! (p.s I am interested in studying it before anyone tells me to just choose what I love but I just need to know if it's worth it ahaha)
Fermion.
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 4 months ago
It’s alright but it’s very stressful and retail orientated. You do have the patient aspect of it but you’re expected to meet targets and convert people to specs/contacts. It can be very stressful.
cheerIeader
Rep:
?
Report 4 months ago
Ahahahahh zon't.. zon't zo it.

Maybe bhadbhabie can offer some insight?
Fe.Haiii
Rep:
?
(Original post by Fermion.)
It’s alright but it’s very stressful and retail orientated. You do have the patient aspect of it but you’re expected to meet targets and convert people to specs/contacts. It can be very stressful.
thanks for ur reply! if you don't mind me did you study it at uni? if so how was ur experience?
Mesopotamian.
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 4 months ago
I can’t offer insight on optometry but I can advise you not to choose dentistry on a whim. Choose it if you’ve done work experience and you have a genuine interest, but don’t choose it based on career prospects or salary - for your sake.
Fe.Haiii
Rep:
?
(Original post by cheerIeader)
Ahahahahh zon't.. zon't zo it.

Maybe bhadbhabie can offer some insight?
hey! im confused on what you mean to not do it ahah
PhoenixRose338
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 4 months ago
(Original post by Fe.Haiii)