Resitting a gcse and starting uni late

Watch
.AnotherStudent
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 months ago
I want to do psychology in University. I’m a student who is decently smart but my behaviour in class isnt the greatest. due to this i was given a 5 in science from teacher predicted grades, which i cannot appeal at all, when I needed a 6 to do biology in sixth form, which is needed to get into psychology at the University of Manchester (where i want to go). Instead of resitting my exam i decided to take a different course, which was drama. I plan on resitting my gcse after my a levels and then study for the a level biology, then hopefully pass and apply to university . However this will hold me back for uni for maybe 2 years. My family thinks this a dumb plan and to be honest im not 100% sure of it either. Is there any way i can resit my exams while also still being in college? Like night classes but for 16 year olds or something?
Travisscottstan
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report 2 months ago
I’m pretty sure you can retake while being in education
cheerIeader
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 2 months ago
First of all, your parents are right - this not a smart plan at all. GCSEs generally don't matter to Unis and there are so many ways to work round them whether thats a resit or not. Try emailing the Uni and asking whether the GCSE grade is absolutely essential to get in order to fulfil their requirements (they may be lenient to some applicants provided your A-Levels are good). If it definitely is required, then you can juggle it with your A-Levels. Taking a year out for a GCSE is laughable... GCSEs are the easiest part of the education system and not hard at all especially if you're only redoing 1 or 2.