The Student Room Group

Teacher Training Help! What do I go for???

I’ve been thinking about doing teacher training for a while now and have seriously started looking into routes to go down. I graduated 3 years ago and have been in employment since in a small tech company. When I started looking I thought that the salaried school direct route would be my best and only option because I already have a mortgage and bills which need to be paid. When I spoke with Get Into Teaching they said this should be ok and I’d still be able to go down the salaried route. However, when I got my teacher advisor appointed he said it’s very unlikely that I could get into a salaried route because I have no previous teaching experience (such as Teaching Assistants) which is what they’re really aimed for and that its a bit of false advertisement.

I then started to see what options I had and I’m SO CONFUSED!

The ONLY way I could do teacher training and afford my car, mortgage, bills etc is through working part time. I’ve read so much about PGCE taking 80 hours of the week so no chance of doing part time work as this was my next option as I wanted something where I could ease in but don’t want to suffocate my self with work and then more work.

The next option was unsalaried school direct with QTS ONLY without any PGCE as I thought this could potentially be less work but is that true?? Would I be able to do QTS only and still have a part time job?? Are there ANY other options out there where I can support myself financially and get teaching qualification (the student loan, my savings and reducing spend will not cover me for the whole course so I need to work...)

I heard about Teach First and after reading about them... might not be good for me as I need to ease my way in.