student2004
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
For those of yous that are doing English literature or have done English literature, can you please give me tips as to what I should look out for when I’m starting the courses
charlieday1
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
Definitely try to read the texts in advance or if its a play try and watch it as it definitely helps to give you a better idea of the source that you're reading. Also, its quite useful to do some slight reading surrounding the context of the book/play as it can help you make some strong analysis or just make it much clearer. For example, I studied The Kite Runner for English Lit and I didn't know much about Afghanistan culture or religion prior to reading but a couple of weeks in I decided to do a little research project and it did make things much clearer. Hope that helps or gives you a bit of a starting place. Have fun as well and don't hesitate to message me if you need any more help or advice.
Geraldthegoat
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
- Read all the texts, make summary sheets on each chapter so you’re familiar with each chapter and it makes it easier to remember.
- make flash cards + mind maps of themes & analysis of quotes so that in exams you’re already hitting your AOS.
- my teacher allows us to watch the movies of the books we’ve read but be careful because some of the scenes in the movies aren’t accurate but this helps u memorise what happens & acknowledge the characters personality traits.
- use highlighters + sticky notes in your book for certain quotes etc or important parts in the book.
ohemaax
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago