I have a question about my university timetable

Watch
Hazadd
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
So im a first year studying medical science and I have just got my timetable.

firstly I have little knowledge on university terms so I must ask

1) what is the difference between lectures and seminars?

2) I have 10 hours on my timetable (8 hours lectures and 2 hours seminars) is this the norm?

3) is it essential that I attend all lectures and seminars?

thanks in advance
remussjhj01
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
A lecture is a larger group of people. The lecturer will talk AT you, and there's little room for any kind of interaction (though you may be able to ask questions at the end). You just take notes, and go back over that content outside of scheduled class time.
A seminar is a smaller group that will likely discuss the topics covered in a lecture. There is much more of an opportunity to discuss your ideas and ask questions about the content. It's more interactive.
Personally, I've heard that sciences (and I assume also medicine) have much more contact time than arts and humanities. I'm about to start a music degree, and I currently have around 8-12 hours per week of contact time. However, I start my course on Saturday, and most other unis don't start until later in the year, so it may just be that yours hasn't fully fleshed out yet, I know mine's been changing more the past few days.
It depends on the uni. Some do actually track attendance, and there will be repercussions if you miss a certain amount of contract time. However, whatever the rules are, I would really recommend not missing lectures unless it cannot be helped (eg. you're sick or have special commitments such as interviews, funerals etc). You will fall behind very quickly, and, since most lectures are online this year, you could potentially do much of it from your bed if you wanted (though again, wouldn't recommend).
Catherine1973
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago