The Student Room Group

English Music Combined Hons

Hi - I'm looking to study English and Music combined honours for 2021
Would appreciate it if anyone has any words of wisdom studying a combined hons degree, or either of the two subjects - especially with what you said on personal statements.
I'm looking at Sheffield, Leeds, Cardiff, Southampton and Newcastle.

Original post by liladavies
Would appreciate it if anyone has any words of wisdom studying a combined hons degree, or either of the two subjects - especially with what you said on personal statements.

Hi!

I'm a current Sheffield student and I'm doing a dual degree with Politics & Philosophy. I found it a bit difficult to figure out how to split my personal statement between the two subjects but I eventually focused on each of them separately, touching on what drives my passion for each subject, how I became interested in the field and why. I also talked about some extracurriculars that were strongly related to what I wanted to study (e.g. Model United Nations conferences when talking about why I want to study Politics) to show my dedication and interest even more. Maybe try to think of some experiences or projects you've been part of and see if they're relevant to your degree and perhaps mention what you've learnt from them or how they contributed to your interest in the field. This is what worked for me, but I'm not sure if it would work for every statement.

Sadly, I'm doing neither English nor Music so I can't help you a whole lot more with the specifics, but my friend Emily is studying for a Music degree at Sheffield, so you can ask her more about it on her AMA thread here: https://www.thestudentroom.co.uk/showthread.php?p=89536182#post89536182

If you have any more questions about what it's like to study at Sheffield, don't hesitate to ask either me, Emily, or the whole team here: https://www.thestudentroom.co.uk/showthread.php?p=90822186#post90822186 :smile:

Andreea
3rd Year