Taking A level independently

Watch
Arthur95
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Hi,

I am a mature student and I would like to sit A level (math, chemistry, biology) (AQA)for the first time as a private candidate.
Should I take AS and A2 separately in different years?
Or should I take it together in one year?
Which one is better and easier to get top grades A*s .
I need your advices.
tomatowielder
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
Hi! I'm a mature student sitting biology, chemistry and maths privately too! Unless you're applying to university with predicted grades, there's really no point taking AS levels, they don't count towards your overall grades. It's best to take all of your exams at once.

Make sure you get your practical endorsement sorted for biology and chemistry - most universities require it and it costs a small fortune as a private candidate.
Arthur95
Rep:
?
(Original post by tomatowielder)
Hi! I'm a mature student sitting biology, chemistry and maths privately too! Unless you're applying to university with predicted grades, there's really no point taking AS levels, they don't count towards your overall grades. It's best to take all of your exams at once.

Make sure you get your practical endorsement sorted for biology and chemistry - most universities require it and it costs a small fortune as a private candidate.
Thank you so much for your reply!

If AS doesn’t count towards my overall grades, then how will I get A* ??
Because as I read that is getting A in AS plus A in A2 =A*
And for practical endorsement, is it one practical exam for both years (AS & A2) in the same day ??
elliemc24
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by Arthur95)
Thank you so much for your reply!

If AS doesn’t count towards my overall grades, then how will I get A* ??
Because as I read that is getting A in AS plus A in A2 =A*
And for practical endorsement, is it one practical exam for both years (AS & A2) in the same day ??