The Student Room Group

Primary PGCE Applications

I am interested in applying for a Primary PGCE. I am currently at LSE and I feel like because it is an atypical degree choice for an LSE grad and careers has been useless in helping me. I have only decided this summer and I am finding trying to get school placements really difficult due to COVID-19. I would like to apply to pretty competitive courses at Exeter, Warwick and maybe Cambridge, so I am worried this will hinder me. So far:I am a student academic mentor at uniI am a student peer supporter and the president of an SU sports clubI am trying to centre my dissertation on a topic relevant to education I just got accepted to mentor a young child (8-12) I have work experience in everything it seems but education (it took me a while of trying thing to really decide I wanted to be a teacher) I have some voluntary work from during my A-Levels and gap year with children but I am worried this was too long ago (three-four years )Any further tips for a killer application or alternative things I can do to show my commitment. I am trying to get approved to be an online tutor the person I am dealing with is just taking a while to get back to me, I am thinking about maybe doing my TEFL (I want to do this eventually) or Level 3 in childcare and education to show a commitment to education but not sure if this would be a waste of time. I also just feel like I have no idea how to write a personal statement anymore!
Reply 1
From what I know the providers are understandable about not having school classroom experience so wouldn’t worry about that too much and classroom experience is not necessary for applications it’s just a way of making sure you know what you’re going to be getting into and more of an idea what it’s going to be like but as I said, don’t worry about it too much especially what’s been happening this year.