What Law Firms to Apply for: Horrible 1st Year Grades with a 3rd Module

Watch
Ju5tAB0r3d1
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
I'd be really grateful if anyone gave me some idea of which law firms aren't likely to screen out mediocre grades with a really poor module from the get-go, so I can figure out my route to securing a TC.

Some context:

I'm a Warwick Law student going onto my final year.

- Secondary school grades: IB 42, 766 HL (equivalent to A*AA? Or ABB? not too sure)
- 1st year: 55% overall. Got 43% in property law. No mitigation circumstances, no excuses.
- 2nd year: 70% overall. Lowest module 57%, highest module 82%. The pandemic was my mitigation circumstance, but I guess everyone has that.
- Relevant work experience: Did a paid internship for a month in a domestic litigation law firm, did unpaid work experience/job shadowing in two international firms. Volunteered 10 hours a week at Support Through Court. Did a legal insight scheme at Goldman Sachs.

1st year doesn't count, 2nd and 3rd year count 50% each. However, I am aware that many firms are looking for consistent grades, which is something I don't have.

I'm aware I'm highly unlikely to get a TC immediately after graduation, so I'm aiming for Vac Schemes and Paralegal roles.

Any answers and words of advice would be very much appreciated.
Bona Cynara
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
If 1st year doesn't count, are those results still on your official transcript?

You have good A-levels and a clear progression upwards between first and second year, which is a plus. Firms with strong academic leanings, e.g. Slaughters, may be out because you probably wouldn't enjoy the interview even if you got one, but I don't think you'd be automatically rejected from any firms.

For what it's worth though I've heard rumours that some big international firms (DLA Piper, Dechert) are looser when it comes to grades.
Ju5tAB0r3d1
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 week ago