turkeydinosaur16
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Hi I'm an A level student doing a bit of research on prion diseases and was wondering if anyone could answer a few of my misconceptions/ queries.

1. Is dementia a prion disease? I'm aware there are rare forms of dementia like CJD which are definitely prion diseases but are all forms of dementia prion diseases?

2. Do all forms of dementia involve amyloid plaques and are these different to that of prion diseases?

3. Is Parkinson's a prion disease/ related to prion diseases?

4. Do other diseases other than prion diseases cause amyloid plaques in the brain?

Thanks in advance for any help
Last edited by turkeydinosaur16; 1 month ago
artful_lounger
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
For the first point I'm pretty sure dementia is a symptom, rather than a disease in of itself, which is caused by a variety of diseases. So I don't think it would be any more a disease than a sore throat is.

ecolier this seems like it might be in your territory?
turkeydinosaur16
Rep:
?
(Original post by artful_lounger)
For the first point I'm pretty sure dementia is a symptom, rather than a disease in of itself, which is caused by a variety of diseases. So I don't think it would be any more a disease than a sore throat is.

ecolier this seems like it might be in your territory?
thank you
I'd read conflicting info on this so I'm glad I checked
ecolier
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by turkeydinosaur16)
Hi I'm an A level student doing a bit of research on prion diseases and was wondering if anyone could answer a few of my misconceptions/ queries.

1. Is dementia a prion disease? I'm aware there are rare forms of dementia like CJD which are definitely prion diseases but are all forms of dementia prion diseases?

2. Do all forms of dementia involve amyloid plaques and are these different to that of prion diseases?

3. Is Parkinson's a prion disease/ related to prion diseases?