A level civil rights in USA homework help!!!

Watch
anonymous3264
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 7 months ago
to what extent did the reconstruction era produce radical changes in the development of African American civil rights?
I have no idea where to begin as I am fairly new to the course so any help will be apprciated
scrubbucino
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report 7 months ago
Not much, really. The first few years after the Civil War saw the ratification of the 15th Amendment, which in theory gave African-Americans the right to vote. This led to many Republican-controlled state legislatures in the South due to African-Americans and abolitionist whites having a good majority. Then the KKK and various other white supremacist groups came along, and used extensive levels of violence to intimidate African-American voters and Republicans from voting. Black voters stopped coming to the polls, and most of the white northerners that had settled in the South fled back to the Union. This led to most Southern states gaining a Democrat majority in their legislatures. The Democrat-controlled legislatures then enacted poll taxes and selective literacy tests to effectively disenfranchise the African-American community and keep Republicans from ever gaining a footing in the South again. They also enacted segregationist laws that kept African-Americans from gaining a footing anywhere in society.