_np02_
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 months ago
I'm studying AQA A level history-- Tsarist and communist Russia and Angevin kings and It would mean a lot if someone could give me some tips on how to write A/A* exam question answers and most preferably if someone could post or send me an A/A* model answer for either Russia or Angevin kings so that I know how I should structure my writing. Thank you.
username3508100
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 4 months ago
Introduction - should answer the question, briefly outline what points you are going to argue, define any key terms that are in the question. Have an opinion on the question, don't just sit on the fence and not answer the question properly

Main body - should include points for and against the question, bring in historians if you can (this is much harder to remember in exam conditions though), make sure you are arguing, not telling a story - remember, the examiner already knows all the info, they're seeing how well you use this info to argue your point, not how well you regurgitate it!

Conclusion - do NOT bring any new points into the conclusion, should just briefly be reiterating your argument and again clearly answering the question.

I did do AQA History but didn't do those topics, so can't provide any specific help sorry
6ambz
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 4 months ago
Hiii, im in year 13 and do tsarist and communist Russia but on the edexcel exam board and my essays are all A/A* so i could definitely give you some tips.

What I do normally is for each topic in Russia I make an A4 Sheet with a 4 grid table, and i summarise 4 sections of that ONE topic onto an A4 table, therefor i have 5 A4 sheets of condensed information which i then memorise. I then use those sheets to make essay plans on EACH TOPIC.