byronic2907
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Was wondering if anyone could give some general tips as to how to get top marks in english literature AQA specifically? I study Othello, The Great Gatsby, Love through the ages, and now will be doing Handmaid's, Streetcar named desire! I tend to have good ideas, but I mostly struggle with putting them on paper and making my writing sound eloquent and flow smoothly, so I was wondering if anyone had any tips as to how to overcome this? Also any tips for revision!! Thank you!
redmeercat
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
I studied Othello, Gatsby for coursework, Streetcar, Poems of the decade and Keats! My main tip is to start reading and annotating more academic articles - I found that I almost absorbed the writing style, and it became easier to mirror how they wrote when I wrote my own essays. Obviously A level standard isn't as fancy as the standard required to be published, but it can still really help! I find most of my articles here https://www.jstor.org/ - I have access through my uni, but I think you can access some free articles every month even if your library doesn't have an account!

Other than reading articles, my best English lit tips are:
- practice planning essays, including which key moment you want to focus on in each paragraph, any contextual links you might include, the overall argument in the essay and the points in each paragraph.
- Research context and really understand the period, the author, the setting (where possible!) and the author's literary context! Reading The Glass Menagerie for Streetcar really changed my perspective on it!
- write lots of practice paragraphs.
byronic2907
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
(Original post by redmeercat)