Esimm03
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 days ago
Hey,
Im a year 13 student taking geography, English, and History, alongside an EPQ, and I want to study Geography and / With Economics at university.

From my summer research, the three main universities I like that offer this corse are Aberdeen, S.t Andrews, and Loughborough ( i know other universities offer this corse, but these three have a mix of human/physical geography - which is what I'm after).

I was hoping to get AAB or AAA for my predicted grades, with my B being in English. In my end of term assessments, I achieved AAD (D was in English, and there's a reason I got low in that particular exam, in normal assessments I'm constantly getting As and Bs). and this week teachers are giving us the grades they'll be submitting to UCAS as our predictions. Today I got my history grade, which was a B, I'm annoyed at it, as I think I will be predicted a B in English as well, so I might be looking at ABB, which is not enough for Loughborough or s.t Andrews.

My question is, Is there any point in applying to Loughborough (AAB) or saint Andrews (AAA/AAB) if I get predictions of ABB? or do they not take predictions massively seriously, allowing some leeway of a grade or so, meaning I'll potentially get an offer, and then I can go if I get the required grades at the end of the year?

I also have a fair amount of extracurricular activities under my belt, I'm a perfectionist at my sixth form, a leader on my school's environmental committee, doing an EPQ on the economic impact of SARS, I did a Level 5 TEFL corse during Lockdown (not related to my subject but shows time management and initiative). I'm hoping that these extra activities possibly will make up for a grade? especially if I get an A in my EPQ (submitting it in a few weeks, will know by Xmas)

Thanks,
Ethan
A Rolling Stone
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 4 days ago
(Original post by Esimm03)
Hey,