Ovobor
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
Hi all
Quick question about plate boundaries. How come we dont need to know what happens at a divergent oceanic-continental? Is it because none of them exist?

Thanks!
Megaman101
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
Well you only need to know about divergent plates as a continental-continental divergent plate would have the exactly the same thing happen at a oceanic-continental divergent plate.
Eg a volcano
But when I done a level geography last year - I’m now studying geology at uni - the theory for tectonics was useless and no questions are ever asked on it - it’s all about development, governance etc the later topics in the chapter so don’t stress if you don’t understand all the theory behind it
Ovobor
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
(Original post by Megaman101)
Well you only need to know about divergent plates as a continental-continental divergent plate would have the exactly the same thing happen at a oceanic-continental divergent plate.
Eg a volcano
But when I done a level geography last year - I’m now studying geology at uni - the theory for tectonics was useless and no questions are ever asked on it - it’s all about development, governance etc the later topics in the chapter so don’t stress if you don’t understand all the theory behind it
Ok thanks. I was looking at a revision guide though and they don’t seem to have an example of this boundary.
Plagioclase
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
(Original post by Ovobor)
Hi all
Quick question about plate boundaries. How come we dont need to know what happens at a divergent oceanic-continental? Is it because none of them exist?

Thanks!
I'm not aware of any that exist - divergent plate boundaries will tend to generate oceanic crust if they exist for a significant amount of time so it would be quite difficult to get an oceanic-continental divergent boundary.
X

Quick Reply

Attached files
Write a reply...
Back
to top
Latest
My Feed