VictoriaSponge98
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Hi all
Although I graduated three years ago I’m only now at the point of applying for graduate jobs. I have a 2:1 (though doesn’t everybody) from a converted poly. I had the grades to go to a Russel group uni (but definitely not oxbridge), but was dead set on going to a particular city and the ‘good’ university there didn’t offer my course. I loved my uni and I think I had a better experience there than friends did at their Russell groups. I have no regrets about attending the uni I did, but an offhand comment from an old school friend who’s a Warwick graduate about my degree being less desirable as it’s from a polytechnic has got me thinking. Just wondering what people’s thoughts are really, do employers substantially take into account where a degree was attained or are they more interested in the bigger picture (eg extra curricular experience within that subject area, or just being a more ‘rounded’ person)! I’m not so much talking about Cambridge vs DDD entry requirements here as that speaks for its self, but as a general guide it would be interesting to hear some opinions.
Thanks!
N. Auditoré
Badges: 22
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by VictoriaSponge98)
Hi all