Super curricular advice for potential Russel group applicant

Watch
Will_Gr
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
I'm in year 12 and hoping to apply to Durham for English lit. I currently tutor a year 11 in gcse English but other than that I have no extra/super curricular things that may strengthen a future application. Things like work experience are easier to find for STEM students, however for a less job-specific course like English it seems impossible to find anything useful. Plus I am still clueless as to what job I want. Any advice would be appreciated
historynerd47
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
Hi, I've got some ideas for you to have a look at and see if any appeal at all:
Subject related to your application:
• MOOCs
• Further reading- literary criticism
• Work experience- as a history student I get it- I want to be an academic and so work experience for me is being in the lectures I one day want to lead but to get experience and demonstrate my interest I did plenty of work experience and actually found it fascinating even if it's not what I want for my career. Helped my application too. For reference, I went to an archeology company, a magazine and wrote a history article that was published, and two weeks behind the scenes at a museum- in the stores, putting out exhibitions, moving collections. Really worth it even though I don't want to be an archeologist or museum curator, for the people doing real life careers who often did your degree first.
• Volunteering- e.g. as part of DofE I volunteered in a second hand bookshop. Pretty solid
Extra curricular:
I would recommend doing whatever you enjoy and making it work for your application. Take whatever it is to the next level. For example, for sport join a club, for music pass an exam and get to the next level, I had friends who did dance and began teaching/leading sessions at their dance school, do whatever you can to enjoy a hobby and get something out of it