amallbbyy
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
I am currently a year 13 student and I really wanted your honest and realistic opinions about applying to Oxford to study law.

I know that Law is a very competitive course with many students applying with top GCSE AS and A Level Results.

Unfortunately, my GCSE grades were not the best: I received grades 87766665 A*(ICT Ingots).
My AS Results were AAB and my predicted grades are A*A*A after working very hard last year.
I understand that the LNAT exams and personal statements are considered so hypothetically speaking if I performed above average in those too - considering all of those factors, would I stand a chance?

Oxford does prioritise GCSE's and so I wanted some realistic advice as to whether it would be worth applying or not because the applications are due in October so if there was a chance I could reconsider rescheduling everything for earlier. On the other hand, if I frankly didn't have a high chance of getting in, i could push my LNAT exams back and apply for other universities.

Another option I was thinking of was that if I received good A Level grades, I could take a gap year to reapply and in that gap year I could retake two of my GCSE exams which could push my grades to:
99876665 A*(ICT Ingots)

In that case, would it still be realistic to reapply? I know that this is quite lengthy.

Also, I was wondering if there are any colleges that don't prioritise GCSE's as strongly as others so that I could try to apply to those if it's better.

Thanks!!!!!
Anonymous #1
Report 1 month ago
I'm applying to cam law this year so not exactly an expert but I do know some more general stuff.

Your GCSE grades aren't looked at as just numbers, your school and contextual info will be taken into account, if you are comfortably in the top half of your cohort then you stand a chance so definitely look into that.