15holmes.j
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 months ago
I'm a year 12 student taking chemistry, maths and history and am currently planning on doing an archaeology degree and am looking for things to do that will help me when I come to write my personal statement later this school year.
I was wondering if anyone could give advice on places I could apply for work experience or volunteering roles in the field of archaeology and history.
I'd also appreciate any advice on other things to do (any good lectures, places to visit etc).
Thank you so much for your help
stressed0ut
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report 4 months ago
Maybe email local museums and stuff?
Kerzen
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 4 months ago
https://www.mola.org.uk/about-us
artful_lounger
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 4 months ago
You don't need to do work experience for any degree that isn't a clinical course (e.g. medicine, dentistry, vet med, allied health professions). Universities realise that many applicants won't even have the opportunity to undertake any relevant work experience (or indeed any at all) and so don't expect it. It is perfectly fine to just discuss your academic interests in the course (which for a lot of subjects is more or less the entirety of what you can do anyway).

For archaeology if you can find any digs to take part in as a volunteer that would be likely a very interesting experience for you, but it's not required. Likewise exploring the cultural sector (e.g. museums, archives, libraries) would be quite relevant, and again if you find any volunteer work or outreach programmes they run that you could take part in that might be up your alley. Again though, this isn't a requirement, it's not something universities are looking for, and having that kind of experience won't ameliorate poorer grades or an unfocused personal statement (and likewise you can just as well get in without having done anything in that vein).