Hello! Do I have a good shot for MA Law and graduate entry LLB courses?

Watch
ruthlessrulerk
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Hi all, I am currently working on my applications for graduate-entry LLB courses & a MA Law course. I aim to ask for deferred entry for 2022 since I will be serving in the military until early May of 2022. Here is the list of schools I will send in my applications:

Graduate Entry LLB:

Birmingham
Queen's University Belfast
Exeter
Glasgow

Postgraduate MA Law:

Bristol

Here are my questions:

Firstly, I read their entry requirements, and they all require a 2:1 degree. Do I have a good shot for all of them since I have a First class degree from a Russell Group university? Besides the grade, I have some work experiences as well as extra-curricular activities at uni.

Secondly, how long does it usually take for unis to send their decisions? I plan to submit my applications in early October once my professors send in their recommendation letters.

Thirdly, how important is the personal statement? I know there are contradicting views on its importance; some say it is very important whilst others regard it as trivial. Since this is my first time to apply for law courses in the UK, I wonder how different the admissions process law courses have from other courses'.

Many thanks in advance!
Last edited by ruthlessrulerk; 1 month ago
Supermature
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
If, as you say, you have a First Class Honours degree from a Russell Group University you should have no problem meeting the entry requirements for any of the courses you have listed, particularly if your degree is in a cognate discipline such as a humanities or social science subject. If you are an international student you would need to meet the relevant English Language requirements for each course.

The Graduate Entry LLB is regarded as a first (undergraduate) degree and you would usually be expected to apply via UCAS.