susysusy123
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 weeks ago
I'm a first year law student who wants to be a solicitor most probably- I don't really know much about mooting, which society do you think would benefit me the most or which one should I choose and why.

UN society seems a lot like debating and mooting they said is crucial for law but I don't know whether I would like mooting
Wired_1800
  • Political Ambassador
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
(Original post by susysusy123)
I'm a first year law student who wants to be a solicitor most probably- I don't really know much about mooting, which society do you think would benefit me the most or which one should I choose and why.

UN society seems a lot like debating and mooting they said is crucial for law but I don't know whether I would like mooting
Bumping this for you.

My view is to join whatever society you have at your uni. If you attend Oxbridge then Oxford Union or Cambridge Union may be good choices.
Joleee
Badges: 19
Report 4 weeks ago
benefit you how? on getting a job, VC or TC at a law firm?

if that’s what you’re asking then i would say mooting cuz if you win, and sometimes even if just participate, you’ll get at least a job shadow with a firm, make contacts etc. probably looks good on your resume; at least my friends who did mooting went onto get jobs and TCs (tho that might be correlation and not causation). useful in learning how to make legal arguments in the future as well, as opposed to political arguments which might be fun but not as relevant. also good practice for when you eventually have to do it with the LPC. oh and might get your name on a plack in the law school.

i don’t think a debating society has a lot of benefit unless you can win a prize or say you were president. maybe contact the current prez and see what activities they actually do?
EU Yakov
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
(Original post by susysusy123)