LukeH911
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
Hi,
I am wondering if I have a suitable experience and background for a strong PGCE application for the 2021/2022 year to teach English in which I am going to apply for in November.

I graduated from university this year with a 2:1 in English Literature in which I chose to study a module that outlined to us how to teach English in secondary schools and I thankfully achieved a first. I then volunteered as a teacher assistant in my secondary school and worked closely with the teachers and was fortunate enough to attend department and safeguarding meetings to see how everything works behind the scenes.

After that, I took up one to one tutoring for secondary school children which I still do to this day.

I’ve just gained a job in cover work where I will hold lessons in English literature and language (obvs the plan the teacher has laid out) but I still would think it showed a desire to get into teaching and count as experience.

Although I’m not slightly sure if this is relevant but I also have experience in working with children due to multiple coaching roles I have in the past from sports (football and boxing).

I was going to try and make it clear in my application that I was going to be trying to attain a primary school assistant place before the PGCE started early in 2021 to see how primary schooling works. Is this useful?

Is there any advice I can go to in Building an application?

Is late October or early November a good time to apply?

Is there any other key experiences I should go for before applying?

If a school that I worked with for cover wanted to take me on and train me on job, should I choose this instead of a pgce?

I’ve found teaching a rather hard thing to get into with there being so many questions and few answers out there. This is made even more difficult with there being various routes into it, (paid and unpaid) and not knowing which one is the best.