elena.gyy
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Hi, I was wondering the subject combination of the architecture, I am currently studying Maths, Chemistry, Physics, and Further Maths, will this be rejected?
Thank you!
University of Bath
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
(Original post by elena.gyy)
Hi, I was wondering the subject combination of the architecture, I am currently studying Maths, Chemistry, Physics, and Further Maths, will this be rejected?
Thank you!
Hi there,

Looking at the entry requirements for Architecture here at Uni of Bath, there is quite a lot of detail on what subjects are preferred. The website states:

"A*AA in three A levels - Your offer can include Mathematics or Further Mathematics but not both. If you are taking a GCE A level in a science subject, you will need to pass any separate science practical endorsement". Basically, you need A*AA in 3 subjects, but if you take maths and further maths then only one can be included in your offer subjects, and thus you need a 4th A-level.

In the extra detail given, it states that they prefer applicants with high performance in Maths or Physics as the A-Level subjects, as well as "a solid grounding in Art or Design, and we prefer applicants who have studied Art or Design" at A-Level. If you haven't studied art or design, then they expects "evidence that you have substantial exposure to art and design thinking and its applications, for example through extra-curricular art work". If you haven't studied art/design at A-Level or have evidence of it as an extra-curricular, then they suggest you consider an Art foundation year prior to applying.

So, with your A-Levels you could apply to Bath and could get an offer, but you would need to have evidence of doing art outside of you A-Levels since you are not taking an art or design A-Level. I imagine this would be similar at all other good unis, as architecture requires a solid level of understanding of art and design.