Can you become a social worker with an eating disorder?

Watch
Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 3 weeks ago
Trigger Warning - Eating Disorder
Spoiler:
Show
I've struggled with disordered eating for a while and things have taken a turn for the worse recently. While I'm not in a crisis, I'd like some support to try and avoid things getting to that point.

My plan atm is to refer myself to counselling at uni as this is not put on your medical record or anything. However, if things don't improve following this I will consider going to my GP to hopefully be referred to ED/mental health services.

I'm a third year student and looking to apply to Frontline/Think Ahead but I think that you have to do some sort of health check. I know my health should come first but I'm reluctant to go to my GP/ED services as I'm worried a diagnosis would stand in my way when trying to get onto either of the grad schemes. Could anyone shed some light on this? Would I have to disclose this in the health form? Thanks.
DrawTheLine
Badges: 22
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
(Original post by Anonymous)
Trigger Warning - Eating Disorder
Spoiler:
Show
I've struggled with disordered eating for a while and things have taken a turn for the worse recently. While I'm not in a crisis, I'd like some support to try and avoid things getting to that point.

My plan atm is to refer myself to counselling at uni as this is not put on your medical record or anything. However, if things don't improve following this I will consider going to my GP to hopefully be referred to ED/mental health services.

I'm a third year student and looking to apply to Frontline/Think Ahead but I think that you have to do some sort of health check. I know my health should come first but I'm reluctant to go to my GP/ED services as I'm worried a diagnosis would stand in my way when trying to get onto either of the grad schemes. Could anyone shed some light on this? Would I have to disclose this in the health form? Thanks.