AveriNova
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 months ago
I'm getting very close to having to apply to Uni and I have been interested in film production for some time now as I believe my love of drama is better handled behind the scenes than in front of the camera.

However, I'm starting to worry if I am actually fit to take a film/tv prouction course at University as I am more inclined to be a runner/production assistant atm as I have no knowledge of anything else such as camera work and editing. But I am more than willing and excited to learn these things aswell!

Am I setting myself up for failure by applying for this course which no prior camera work or editing experience? Please help!

I am currently looking at applying for film production at York, Portsmouth and Leeds Beckett and Film production with Drama at Bristol and Exeter
Last edited by AveriNova; 3 months ago
AnnaMirjam
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report 3 months ago
Hi!
I'm studying Film at the University of Westminster. Usually, BA courses are for orientation. You'll learn all the required skills to partake in any role in Film Production, so you don't need any skills before starting your first year. I don't know about the universities you chose, but usually, film production universities require you to show a portfolio of your works. This could be scripts, photos, films, basically anything that reflect your skills and show that you have a bit of an interpretation of films/narratives.
I hope this helps a bit! Let me know if you have any questions regarding my film course.
AveriNova
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 months ago
(Original post by AnnaMirjam)
Hi!