Why do they make us do so many presentations

Watch
Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 3 weeks ago
I get there is a case to be made that being good at presenting encapsulates all kinds of valuable life skills, like the confidence to articulate yourself in front of people, think on the spot etc but now that I’m in my third year of university, the extent to which presenting is pushed I feel is very unnecessary.

I’m sure that it’s just my course (biology) and uni that seems to have this obsession with presentations because even throughout second year, I was doing a presentation on a near weekly basis and now in third year I have an entire module dedicated to “presentation skills” which to me is a fat waste of my money and time on this degree.

They say that you get better at things the more you do them and while this is definitely applicable to most things, it isn’t for me when it comes to presentations. They make me incredibly nervous, I get heart palpitations before every presentation (literally since my first ever presentation in year 3 or something) And I fret over each one for weeks before.

Do you think that presenting is such an important skill to have?
Bio 7
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
A presentation I had to do in third year of uni caused me to screw up the year, it's a whole thing. I despise presenting with a strong passion and would rather be under a bus than give one.
Anonymous #1
(Original post by Bio 7)
A presentation I had to do in third year of uni caused me to screw up the year, it's a whole thing. I despise presenting with a strong passion and would rather be under a bus than give one.
For real. If anything they really shouldn’t be grading presentations because it then becomes a test of public speaking skill/confidence as oppose to actual knowledge about the degree that you’re studying and as somebody who is really shy and doesn’t like being in front of crowds, I inevitably get not so great grades.
Bio 7
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago