Micaimaan
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 weeks ago
So I currently have a part time
Job but it is stressful for me as the shifts are short and spread across 6 days a week. I work 6pm-9pm monday to friday and 10-2 on saturdays. I find it rather inconvenient because this means I have to constantly clock watch and I'd much rather do one 9 hour shift than three, three hour shifts. I am in my first year of uni and have been out of education for a couple of years now and all I want is to devote the majority of time to my studies. I pay rent to my mom which is also stressful because now I have no choice but to work. I am looking for a different job with more flexible hours. My maintenance loan was not enough as my mom could not provide me with proof of income so I am receiving the lowest amount, however my mom is trying to find the information so I can get an increase.

Any suggestions on how I can manage my stress or what would be a sensible thing to do?
Seancanucks
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
For perspective I’m 28, paying £200 rent a month to live at home with my mom after leaving a £20k/year job to pursue a degree in order to change careers. For me it made sense to stop working entirely, I don’t want to put in 60% effort and get 60% of the grades I want, I want 100% to give me the best understanding of my field. That means doing double the recommended hours of independent studying on a daily basis, sometimes pushing 14 hours in a day.

Not everyone can do this and that’s fine. For me if I were to be doing a part time job, the money would go towards non-essentials. I wouldn’t save it, I would want to reward my hard work of managing study and work with new clothes, expensive meals when I don’t fancy cooking, you name it. So in the time I could be working, I’m studying so that when I graduate I’m better prepared for a job that could pay me considerably more per year than this part time job could.