Scidooz
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 weeks ago
I'm a female Australian student (UK dual national) wanting to study Medicine or Natural Sciences at Cambridge starting 2022. Due to COVID we can't leave (let alone return to) Australia until at least next July and probably longer, so open days 2021 looking very unlikely. So very genuine question about colleges. My priorities are 1 reasonably academic as I'm quite studious and academic (though it's Cambridge, so . . .), 2 guaranteed college accommodation all three years, and in college itself at least in first and third years then close to college in second year (just easier/more reliable with being overseas student and me possibly locked out of Oz/family possibly locked in there for who knows how long) and ability to stay in room over the two short vacs a bonus (though I can go to grandparents in UK so not essential) and even a room ballot for high grades would be good, 3 pretty grounds to hang out/study in, 4 not too far out because female walking home in dark etc etc and ideally closer to med/science 5 pretty/grounds more important than nearby shops 6 sporty (i.e. social hockey, touch footie teams etc not best male rugby team), friendly and relaxed social culture rather than partying hard and drinking. Am thinking Christ's, Peterhouse, St Catz or Corpus Christi (actually looks pretty good but seems to score low for lifestyle), but they are all probably very hard to get into because higher on Tompkins Table, so maybe Emmanuel, King's, Sidney, Jesus, Magdalen or St. John's?Though I don't think they all guarantee accomodation. With no ability t o visit, I think you out there will be more honest and useful than a few virtual tours! Any genuine advice gratefully received.
Oxford Mum
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
(Original post by Scidooz)