Apprenticeships for animal related jobs

Watch
floppyfish
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 weeks ago
I’d love to be a vet but the idea of staying in education for an extra 5 years stresses me out. In general I’d say I’m a decent student (predicted mostly 6s and 7s for GCSEs) and I’m planning om doing A-levels. I’d love to do an apprenticeship but I’m still not sure how they work.
Do you do them during or after uni?
Is it possible to become a fully qualified vet through an apprenticeship?
Are there any other animal/ecology jobs you can get through an apprenticeship?
Littleemma98
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
(Original post by floppyfish)
I’d love to be a vet but the idea of staying in education for an extra 5 years stresses me out. In general I’d say I’m a decent student (predicted mostly 6s and 7s for GCSEs) and I’m planning om doing A-levels. I’d love to do an apprenticeship but I’m still not sure how they work.
Hi
Have you looked into this at all and see if any vet practices can take you on as a apprentice which would allow you to study at college/university and work in the vet practice part-time as well.
Its can be possible to become a vet via the apprenticeship but you'll need to get yourself work in a established vet practice before you able to do this ok.

There's nothing wrong doing another five years education because I just did 4 years at university and at a vet practice for veterinary nursing which I passed recently and I'm now back at university doing another 3 years for nursing so 5 years isn't nothing compare to 7 for me .
pixxies
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report 2 weeks ago
(Original post by floppyfish)
Hey!
You can’t become a veterinary surgeon though an apprenticeship. You can become a veterinary nurse and veterinary care assistant through one though