The Student Room Group

Can’t afford laptop to access my course

I am a second year university student in London in the UK. The old laptop I was using last year has finally died and I cannot afford to buy a new one, even on credit, as I have £97 pounds to get me through the next month. I’ve been denied an overdraft by my bank and the university has told me I’m not eligible for financial assistance from them to help me buy one. I cannot work at the minute as I am struggling with an eating disorder. My entire course is online and I’m currently trying to attend seminars and write essays on my phone. If anyone knows any schemes or ways I could get a free or heavily subsidised laptop I’d be very grateful. Thank you.
Original post by Bikeboy666
I am a second year university student in London in the UK. The old laptop I was using last year has finally died and I cannot afford to buy a new one, even on credit, as I have £97 pounds to get me through the next month. I’ve been denied an overdraft by my bank and the university has told me I’m not eligible for financial assistance from them to help me buy one. I cannot work at the minute as I am struggling with an eating disorder. My entire course is online and I’m currently trying to attend seminars and write essays on my phone. If anyone knows any schemes or ways I could get a free or heavily subsidised laptop I’d be very grateful. Thank you.

Why dont you have any money?
Are you an EU student?
Did you get min loan?
Are you a masters student?

Something is missing.

Sometimes universities lend people laptops, have you checked with the library?
Reply 2
Original post by 999tigger
Why dont you have any money?
Are you an EU student?
Did you get min loan?
Are you a masters student?

Something is missing.

Sometimes universities lend people laptops, have you checked with the library?