Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 3 months ago
So I'm a 5th year medical student and I'm on an ED placement which is something I was very excited for. I thought it'd give me the chance to prepare for F1 and practice the core skills that I need.

Instead, it's done the opposite. I find that the nurses don't seem to like me and often tell me I'm getting in the way or to "go sit somewhere else." I try to go to nurses and ask them if I can practice cannulas and catheters and they say they'll find me but even when I'm right there, they will just do it themselves. Sometimes when the pts ask about something and I go pass the message on to the nurse, they'll make a comment like well why are you telling me?

I know waiting around is normal but I thought I'd feel more a part of the time and less isolated but I feel even more "alienated" than I did in year 3 and 4. I tend to be at placement from 9am-6pm on most days and most of that will be chasing doctors to listen to me present and then them being like ok, I'll come find you and then I'll have to sit around for 1 hour before they even do, which a lot of the time they won't.

I'm here for 6 weeks and I don't know whether I can continue staying there for 8 hours everyday. I was wondering if anyone has had a similar experience and how they've kind of got passed it? I've always found that in previous placements because I'm "keen" and go in often and appear interested, doctors tend to like that and are keen to teach but it seems the complete opposite here.

I'm scared that I won't have any of the skills that I need for F1 because of the lack of chances to practice anything. Any tips from anyone would be appreciated
Hudl
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by Anonymous)
X