A few questions about philosophy interview at Cambridge

Watch
Zhaoji Xu
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Hello I am a Chinese student applying to study philosophy at Cambridge. I am a public school student (not an international school, so there is little English help) and all my knowledge of philosophy is from reading after class. I wonder how much reading is required to do well in interviews (I am applying as open application), and if Cambridge tend to focus on any field in their questions. Any online resources recommended for philosophy guide? I am also wondering how will Cambridge carry out its at-interview tests this year, so if anyone can provide related information it will be fantastic.

Another small worry: will Cambridge reject me because my school is not recognized (in UCAS), though I have qualifications up to standard?

A lot of thanks.
Peterhouse Admissions
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
We will not reject you because your school isn't listed at UCAS! There are too many schools worldwide for UCAS to recognise them all, so don't worry about that.

Interviewers will not just ask you what you know and what you've read but will most likely set you some philosophical questions to challenge you and to see whether you are able to attempt challenging philosophical problems. Again, you will not be expected to answer these correctly first time (there may not even be a correct answer). You may find these FAQs useful.

Finally, more details of the Philosophy at-interview assessment will be provided by your college in due course.
Zhaoji Xu
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
(Original post by Peterhouse Admissions)
We will not reject you because your school isn't listed at UCAS! There are too many schools worldwide for UCAS to recognise them all, so don't worry about that.