The Student Room Group

Japanese and Russian

Hi, I am thinking of applying for Japanese and Russian at Leeds. I'm just wondering if anyone has taken these subjects at uni or has done languages at Leeds so I can figure out if this degree is for me since I can't find out much about this on the internet. Thanks!
@Quick-use studies/studied Japanese at Edinburgh, if that helps :biggrin:
Reply 2
Hi, thanks! I was actually looking into Japanese and Linguistics at Edinburgh the other day, I want to do something related to Japanese/Linguistics and possibly Russian or Chinese
Original post by stereotypeasian
@Quick-use studies/studied Japanese at Edinburgh, if that helps :biggrin:

Thanks for the tag. I studied Japanese at Edinburgh, yeah. :hat2:

Original post by Caz1234567
Hi, thanks! I was actually looking into Japanese and Linguistics at Edinburgh the other day, I want to do something related to Japanese/Linguistics and possibly Russian or Chinese

Hey, someone recently asked me about Japanese and Linguistics at Edinburgh, so I'll copy/paste what I told them.

I didn't take any of the Linguistics modules myself, but the Japanese language courses were great. I've studied French and Spanish since I was young and continued them alongside Japanese (as a complete beginner) from first year of university, and I can honestly say that the Japanese tutors were some of the utterly best language tutors I've ever had (across all my language tuition). I went from knowing absolutely no Japanese to becoming conversational just before going on my year abroad. Before going to Japan, I didn't think Edinburgh's Japanese language tutors could be topped by anyone else, but I was really pleasantly surprised by the tutors I received in Japan. This is one thing I'm eternally grateful for - Edinburgh's stellar Japanese department and its links with some of the best language departments in Japan.