The Student Room Group

I'm a first year Optometry student, ask me anything! :)

I know that there's barely any advice or resources for students who are thinking of applying for Optometry (there isn't even an Optom section on TSR), so I thought that I'd create this forum. I'll try my best to help you out :smile:

Edit: I'm currently doing my Pre-Registration year now so feel free to ask any questions about that too!
(edited 3 months ago)

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Why eyes?
Original post by giella
Why eyes?

I've been going to regular eye tests since I was a child and so I saw first hand how much glasses improved my daily life e.g. education. I think sight is the most important sense :smile:
Where are you studying optometry?
Original post by nxsha
I know that there's barely any advice or resources for students who are thinking of applying for Optometry (there isn't even an optom section on TSR), so I thought that I'd create this forum. I'll try my best to help you out :smile:

how to write a personal statement for optometry?
Original post by Augenstern
how to write a personal statement for optometry?

For mine, I wrote about why I wanted to do Optometry in the first paragraph and how I came to that decision.

The main, middle section should be focusing on any work experience/volunteering you've done. If you've had work experience at an optician's, then that's amazing- talk about anything you learned about the role of an Optometrist and the skills they need. You could also mention how they communicated with their patient, the equipment you saw being used, how the staff worked well under pressure etc (this shows that you have a good knowledge of what working in Optometry is like)