The Student Room Group

Moving away for university at 22

Hey guys!

Hope you're all doing well in this current situation.

I turn 22 next summer, and I'm currently studying on an access to HE course and hoping to study Biomedical Science next year. I live just outside of Manchester and it's a city I absolutely adore so a place at MMU would be perfect, this way I'd be able to stay home and close to my loved ones too.

However, I know that it's super important that I have other options too. I'm considering other universities to study at (ones with accreditation from the Institute Of Biomedical Science, I know). I do drive so there's some places I could get to easily enough, but I'm also open to the possibility of moving away too. Sure, when I was 17/18 the thought of moving away for uni was the most exciting thing ever, and I'm still big on new things and adventures. But is 22 a bit too old to be thinking about student accommodation? It sounds so silly. Obviously I wouldn't be going for the mad type of party halls I've heard about and I know there's different options to choose from, but I don't know. I just don't want to apply for somewhere and then end up turning an offer down last minute! What does everyone else think? What would you recommend and would I be completely out of place moving into any type of accom? Did you or your friends share accom (even just a shared kitchen but your own bedroom + en suite) with anybody older? I'm just a bit nervous about it and I need to start applying soon.

Thank you! xo
Original post by bellag0ff
Hey guys!

I turn 22 next summer, and I'm currently studying on an access to HE course and hoping to study Biomedical Science next year. I live just outside of Manchester and it's a city I absolutely adore so a place at MMU would be perfect, this way I'd be able to stay home and close to my loved ones too.