Want more information about this university?
Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
On the one hand, Sheffield is much closer to where i live, however i understand coventry is better at engineering, more specifically Automotive engineering
University of Sheffield Students
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
Hi! I'm a current student studying Materials Science and Engineering at The University of Sheffield. This is a general thing in the Faculty of Engineering and I love the fact that the engineering departments has so many different connections with various industries like Rolls Royce, IBM, JLR and Boeing. Some professors directly research for Rolls Royce and my department has a direct research centre with them. Because of this, I've received loads of exposure and workshops from them regarding employability or CV checking sessions, mock assessment centres and so on. My final year project is also a collab with RR so that's been great for me.

In addition to that, Uni of Sheffield also has different initiatives that houses loads of different projects including robotics one like Avalon ROV oe Mars Rover. I was part of SunbYte which was in collab with NASA and we actually went there and launched our telescope from there. There are other student-led projects as well which multiple engineering departments fund and support.

Let me know if you have any more questions!

-Sanchari
4th Year, MEng Materials Science and Engineering, UoS
hallamstudents
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by Anonymous)
On the one hand, Sheffield is much closer to where i live, however i understand coventry is better at engineering, more specifically Automotive engineering
Hi,