BigFawn
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 months ago
I study Maths, Chemistry and Geology, my plan was originally to study chemical engineering however I've been swayed off after doing more research into it. Can I still study computer science despite the fact I did not choose it as an A level and have little to know prior knowledge, I did computer science at GCSE but its all a it of a blur. Are apprenticeships also out the window considering I have no knowledge on computer science ?
Ahnaful
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 3 months ago
(Original post by BigFawn)
I study Maths, Chemistry and Geology, my plan was originally to study chemical engineering however I've been swayed off after doing more research into it. Can I still study computer science despite the fact I did not choose it as an A level and have little to know prior knowledge, I did computer science at GCSE but its all a it of a blur. Are apprenticeships also out the window considering I have no knowledge on computer science ?
Hi, you should check with the universities if you can choose computer science as your major with your subjects. Many universities don't require you to have computer science as an A level subject but some universities require you to have physics as an A level subject (I don't know why Physics is needed for CS). If you look at the University of Toronto for instance, they require a minimum of 4 subjects at AS and 3 at A level, physics and maths is required and chemistry is recommended but if you don't do chemistry you need to have one another subject at A level.
So to answer your question in short check the uni requirements.
RogerOxon
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 3 months ago
I study Maths, Chemistry and Geology, my plan was originally to study chemical engineering however I've been swayed off after doing more research into it. Can I still study computer science despite the fact I did not choose it as an A level and have little to know prior knowledge