I'm in my 3rd year at uni, and so far it has been a total mess (long)

Watch
Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Before coming to uni, I was expecting everything to be so straightforward - I would get along with my flatmates (who I would end up living with in 2nd/3rd year), I would be close with my coursemates and I would join a society that I would love. I would come away with friends for life.

But this hasn't been the case at all, I'll try to summarise it...

1st year:
- Just didn't click with my flatmates/coursemates, didn't enjoy course, but did enjoy a sports society I joined
- When it came to choosing houses for 2nd year, the people I met through sport had already decided to live with their respective flatmates, so I settled with a few people from my halls, who were really more acquaintances than friends
- Spent a lot of 1st year not going out as much as I had hoped, as noone really asked me (might have assumed I was busy with my own flatmates) but at least I had my sport to keep me busy
- I changed course at the end of 1st year, so basically 'started again' and in the process hoped for a fresh start

2nd year:
- Gave up sports society (training expectation became too intense/serious, a few people stopped doing it) and so I lost contact with some of the people I met through this
- New course was going well, and got on well with coursemates
- However, most of my coursemates had their own groups from their flats etc., so I felt a little bit left out
- Again, spent most of 2nd year not really going out, as noone really asked me
- Managed to speak with 1 coursemate about a house for the next year, they kindly let me join in with some other coursemates (who I hadn't really spoken to much before)
- I started to feel hopeful again, but knew that I would have to get to know the other coursemates who I would be living with...
- Then COVID hit, and we all went home before I got a chance to get to know them

3rd year: